Pokemon Isle Of Armor And Crown Tundra: All We Know About Sword And Shield's DLC

Two big DLC expansions for Pokemon Sword and Shield are on the way this year: The Isle of Armor and The Crown Tundra. The former is available now, while the latter is slated to follow this fall, and each one introduces a wealth of additional content to the titles, including new gameplay features, locations, characters, storylines, and even Pokemon.

Since Isle of Armor and The Crown Tundra were officially unveiled, The Pokemon Company has been gradually revealing more details about the expansions in the lead up to their launch. To help get you up to speed on the DLC, we’ve rounded up everything we know about The Isle of Armor and The Crown Tundra below.

  • Expansion Pass Price
  • Early Purchase Bonuses
  • Confirmed Returning Pokemon
  • New Pokemon
  • Isle Of Armor Characters And Storyline
  • The Crown Tundra Characters And Storyline
  • Gigantamax Starters
  • New Features And Items
  • Release Date

Expansion Pass Price

Isle of Armor and The Crown Tundra are bundled together as part of the Pokemon Sword and Shield Expansion Pass, which is available through the Switch Eshop for $30 USD / £27. The expansions cannot be purchased individually. Each game also requires its own Expansion Pass, so if you own both Sword and Shield, you’ll need to purchase the pass for each version if you’re hoping to access the new content in both titles.

Early Purchase Bonuses

You’ll receive a few free bonus items for pre-purchasing the Expansion Pass. First, you’ll get an exclusive Pikachu uniform and Eevee uniform for your trainer. If you purchase the Expansion Pass before August 31, you’ll also receive clothing items based on Leon’s cap and tights. Here’s how to claim the early purchase bonus.

Confirmed Returning Pokemon

As previously mentioned, Game Freak is bringing back an assortment of old Pokemon alongside each expansion. These monsters are being added as free updates, so you don’t need to own the Expansion Pass to get them; you’ll be able to receive the Pokemon through trades or import them via Pokemon Home even if you don’t pick up the DLC. However, the returning Pokemon can only be encountered in the wild if you own the Expansion Pass.

In total, more than 200 old Pokemon will be added to Sword and Shield, including practically every Legendary from previous games. You can see all the returning Pokemon that have been confirmed so far below:

Isle of Armor

  • Sandshrew
  • Sandslash
  • Jigglypuff
  • Wigglytuff
  • Psyduck
  • Golduck
  • Poliwag
  • Poliwhirl
  • Poliwrath
  • Politoed
  • Abra
  • Kadabra
  • Alakazam
  • Tentacool
  • Tentacruel
  • Slowpoke
  • Slowbro
  • Slowking
  • Magnemite
  • Magneton
  • Magnezone
  • Lickitung
  • Lickilicky
  • Exeggcute
  • Exeggutor
  • Cubone
  • Marowak
  • Happiny
  • Chansey
  • Blissey
  • Tangela
  • Tangrowth
  • Kangaskhan
  • Horsea
  • Seadra
  • Kingdra
  • Staryu
  • Starmie
  • Scyther
  • Scizor
  • Pinsir
  • Tauros
  • Porygon
  • Porygon2
  • Porygon-Z
  • Azurill
  • Marill
  • Azumarill
  • Heracross
  • Skarmory
  • Miltank
  • Whismur
  • Loudred
  • Exploud
  • Carvanha
  • Sharpedo
  • Shinx
  • Luxio
  • Luxray
  • Buneary
  • Lopunny
  • Lillipup
  • Herdier
  • Stoutland
  • Venipede
  • Whirlipede
  • Scolipede
  • Petilil
  • Liligant
  • Sandile
  • Krokorok
  • Krookodile
  • Zorua
  • Zoroark
  • Emolga
  • Foongus
  • Amoongus
  • Mienfoo
  • Mienshao
  • Druddigon
  • Bouffalant
  • Larvesta
  • Volcarona
  • Fletchling
  • Fletchinder
  • Talonflame
  • Skrelp
  • Dragalge
  • Dedenne
  • Klefki
  • Rockruff
  • Lycanroc
  • Fomantis
  • Lurantis
  • Comfey
  • Sandyghast
  • Palossand

The Crown Tundra

  • Nidoran (F)
  • Nidorina
  • Nidoqueen
  • Nidoran (M)
  • Nidorino
  • Nidoking
  • Zubat
  • Golbat
  • Crobat
  • Elekid
  • Electabuzz
  • Electivire
  • Magby*
  • Magmar*
  • Magmortar*
  • Aron*
  • Lairon*
  • Aggron*
  • Swablu*
  • Altaria*
  • Absol*
  • Spheal
  • Sealeo
  • Walrein
  • Relicanth*
  • Beldum
  • Metang
  • Metagross
  • Gible
  • Gabite
  • Garchomp
  • Cryogonal
  • Amaura
  • Aurorus


  • Entei
  • Raikou
  • Suicune
  • Ho-Oh
  • Lugia
  • Regirock
  • Regice
  • Registeel
  • Latios
  • Latias
  • Groudon
  • Kyogre
  • Rayquaza
  • Azelf
  • Mesprit
  • Uxie
  • Heatran
  • Cresselia
  • Dialga
  • Palkia
  • Giratina
  • Tornadus
  • Thundurus
  • Landorus
  • Reshiram
  • Zekrom
  • Kyurem
  • Xerneas
  • Yveltal
  • Zygarde
  • Tapu Koko
  • Tapu Lele
  • Tapu Bulu
  • Tapu Fini

* Confirmed in the latest trailer

New Pokemon

On top of all the returning Pokemon, each expansion introduces a handful of new Pokemon to the games. Chief among these are two new Legendaries: Kubfu, the mascot of Isle of Armor; and Calyrex, the mascot of The Crown Tundra.

The expansions introduce new forms of some older Pokemon as well, including Galarian variants of Slowpoke, Slowbro, and Slowking, as well as Gigantamax versions of Venusaur and Blastoise. The Pokemon Company has also shown off Galarian forms of Articuno, Zapdos, and Moltres, as well as two new Regis: the Electric-type Regieleki and the Dragon-type Regidrago.

Isle Of Armor Characters And Storyline

The Isle of Armor expansion takes place on the titular island, which lies off the coast of Galar proper. The isle is home to a Pokemon dojo, where aspiring trainers learn under the tutelage of an old man named Mustard, who is the longest-reigning champion in Galar history and Leon’s former mentor.

Early in your adventure on the Isle of Armor, Mustard will gift you the Legendary Pokemon Kubfu, which you’ll be able to raise into Urshifu after conquering one of two towers on the island: the Tower of Darkness or the Tower of Waters. Which tower you challenge will determine how Kubfu evolves. If you complete the Tower of Darkness, Kubfu will evolve into Single Strike Style Urshifu, a Fighting/Dark type; if you complete the Tower of Waters, Kubfu will instead become Rapid Strike Style Urshifu, a Fighting/Water type.

Source: Read Full Article