ESL Pro League confirms changes, narrows down to 24 teams for Season 11

ESL has confirmed previous reports regarding a format change that would see the ESL Pro League product brought from 48 teams to 24 teams. The tournament organizer’s 11th season will be drastically different from what we’ve seen in the past purely based on the team’s competing.

Rather than having its usual regions of Europe, the Americas, and the Asia-Pacific, ESL has cut down the team’s and made it a global league from start to finish.

The team’s listed by ESL as “invited and qualified” to their league:

  • Evil Geniuses
  • Astralis
  • Team Liquid
  • G2 Esports
  • Natus Vincere
  • FaZe Clan
  • CompLexity
  • Mousesports
  • Ninjas in Pyjamas
  • ENCE
  • 100 Thieves
  • Team Vitality
  • OG
  • North
  • Heroic
  • TyLoo
  • Sharks
  • Renegades
  • forZe
  • INTZ

It’s important to note that these teams are not 100% confirmed. These teams have been invited to the league but nothing is set in stone as of now until they accept the offer officially.

The teams that did not make the cut will be given a spot in the Mountain Dew League, a division below ESL Pro League. The criteria for selection was not made readily available, however, it was previously reported that the list was decided based on Lanxess Agreement (teams that agree to it), playoff finalists from season 10, winners of last seasons Mountain Dew League, and the ESL World Ranking.

With the B Site league on the horizon, the shut down of ECS, and now ESL Pro League’s changes, this is one of the rockiest moments we’ve seen in recent years regarding which teams are playing in what leagues and what that means for the overall competition. A massive divide seems to be forming as leagues battle for dominance.

Source: Read Full Article